Other Additions

Residents of Coopersdale Borough also had voted to join in the consolidation, but they were unable to do so because Coopersdale was not contiguous to Johnstown. Morrellville separated Johnstown and Coopersdale and since Morrellville was not then a borough, it did not vote on the consolidation issue.

About the time the city received its charter in 1889, the village of Moxham was annexed to the 7th Ward. Two years later, by court decree, it became the 17th Ward.

Meantime, in 1890, the village of Morrellville received its borough charter. It retained its municipal identity until 1897 when it was annexed to the city as the 18th, 19th and 20th Wards.

The annexation of Morrellville removed the obstacle that had prevented Coopersdale from joining the city. Coopersdale then became the 21st Ward in 1898.

With the addition of Coopersdale, the present day boundaries of Johnstown were virtually established. Most notable among the later day annexations was Roxbury Borough, which became part of the 8th Ward, and Walnut Grove, which became part of the 17th Ward.

Back to History Page

Johnstown Pennsylvania Information Source Online
Designed by Michaels Computing
Send Email To: